Understanding The 4 Types Of Alimony in New Jersey

New Jersey recognizes four different types of alimony.

In brief, according to New Jersey’s alimony statute, N.J.S.A.: 34-23, alimony is a money award that a court orders one spouse, the payor spouse, to pay to his or her ex-spouse, the payee spouse, following their divorce.

Following their divorce, and per this same statute, in all matters that are brought before a court of proper jurisdiction, and upon the requisite demand, may award an individual with the following types of alimony:

(1) open durational alimony (previously called “permanent alimony”);

(2) rehabilitative alimony;

(3) limited durational alimony; and/or

(4) reimbursement alimony.

Before delving into each of these types of alimony, please note that there is a lot involved in a court’s decision to award a particular type of alimony. If you are going through this process, it is imperative that you hire an experienced Family Law Attorney in Central New Jersey for your case. Doing so will improve your chances of obtaining the outcome you desire.

1. Open Durational Alimony

Open durational alimony continues until either the court or the parties involved decide to terminate it. Open durational alimony normally applies to marriages that are more than 20 years long.

As with other forms of alimony, a party seeking to modify open durational alimony may do so upon a persuasive showing of a substantial change of circumstances.

2. Rehabilitative Alimony

New Jersey also recognizes rehabilitative alimony, which is designed to allow a supported spouse to take specific steps toward obtaining gainful employment With rehabilitative alimony, the spouse that requests the court for this type of alimony must submit to the court a specific plan he or she anticipates following to obtain gainful employment.

The requesting spouse must also specify the time frame and the period of employment that should occur during this rehabilitation period.

Just as it sounds, rehabilitative alimony’s goal is to get the individual back on his or her feet. Rehabilitative alimony provides training and education to allow the person to better support his or herself.

3. Limited Durational Alimony

When alimony is limited for a period of years, this is referred to as limited durational alimony.

Typically, this form of alimony is used where a spouse, who will be receiving the alimony awards, needs said awards to maintain the lifestyle that he or she enjoyed during the course of the marriage.

This alimony will be awarded for a limited number of years with the vision that, once the number of years pass, the spouse receiving support will eventually be self supporting and no longer in need of alimony payments.

4. Reimbursement Alimony

Finally, New Jersey recognizes reimbursement alimony. This form of alimony consists of the financial contributions that were provided to a person’s ex-spouse for purposes of him or her obtaining an education.

This also includes monies spent towards obtaining his or her degree, such as housing, education materials (books, paper, et cetera), transportation, et cetera.

Hire A Central New Jersey Divorce Attorney For Your Case

If you have questions or issues with regard to alimony , it is important that you hire an experienced Family Law Attorney. Contact the Law Office of Steven M. Cytryn, LLC , for assistance with your case. Proudly Serving Central New Jersey, including Middlesex, Monmouth, Somerset, Union and Mercer Counties.